Ramadan2017-Iftar: Mustard seed crusted Salmon & Potato Salad w/ Lemon vinaigrette

About 5 years ago (feels like decades) I was working in sales and one thing I remember about my retail years, are my lunches! Yes they were the highlight of my day. 
I remember a lunch favourite that I would purchase regularly from M&S, which sadly seems to be discontinued but I’ve been craving it like mad especially during Ramadan when I just want a light meal. It was the Lochmuir Hot Smoked Salmon & Potato salad with a Lemon Vinaigrette, doesn’t it sound delicious! 

This was my go to, a deliciously seasoned piece of salmon, creamy potato salad & a tangy dressing that just bring em all in to a group hug! 
I’ve recreated this dish to my own current tastes and budget of course, those £5 salads are no longer working with my frugality. 

A.E x

WHAT  YOU’LL  NEED 

(serves 2)

For the salmon:

▪2 salmon fillets
▪Salt and freshly ground pepper
▪2 spring onions (minced)
▪1tsp dried dill
▪2tbsp olive oil
▪1tbsp mustard seeds

For the potato salad:

▪300g  New potatoes (cooked & kept warm)
▪65g Greek yogurt
▪1tsp mustard
▪65g mayonnaise
▪2tsp dried chives
▪2 hard boiled eggs (sliced)

For the dressing:

▪70ml olive oil
▪Juice of 1 lemon
▪2tsp honey
▪1 tsp dijon mustard
▪1 garlic clove (minced)


METHOD

For the salmon:

-Preheat grill. Place salmon on a baking sheet and season with salt and pepper.

-In a medium bowl, mix the spring onion with the dill and olive oil. Equally spread the onion mixture on each piece of salmon & season with salt and pepper.

-Place in middle of oven & grill for 5 minutes, rotating halfway through.

-Remove from under the grill, keep grill on. Coat salmon with mustard seeds, patting them on till they stick. Return to grill for a further 5mins or till cooked through.

For the potato salad:

If necessary cut potatoes into halves

-In a large bowl combine remaining ingredients (apart from egg) and stir through warm potatoes. Season with sea salt and pepper. Serve, topped with eggs.

For the dressing:

-In a small bowl, whisk together all the ingredients very well and its ready!

Plate up and enjoyyyyy

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow I never thought of using musters seeds in that way. But it looks amazing! (:

    Like

    1. You gotta try it! It’s great!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

