Delicious Rainbow Quinoa

Trying to maintain a healthy lifestyle, whilst keeping fit and catering to your families needs and yours (when you can) is far from easy.

In an attempt to get healthier I’ve been researching superfoods and how to bring out the delicious outta them. I made a pact with myself to have at least 1 or 2 vegetarian meals a week and I’ve been sticking to it rather well.

What’s my fave new superfood you ask? well this week it was quinoa, super high in protein, amino acids & anti oxidants (to name just a few). At first I was quite cynical I’d enjoy this at all as I’m not a big fan of rice or grains and the only similar superfood I’ve tried is bulgur and I remember not liking it so much. 

When cooking quinoa many recipes advise you to cook 1 parts quinoa in 2 parts water/stock, but I find the consistency of it done this way too mushy. So for more texture, all you need to do is cook quinoa 1:1 equal parts, so there’s a top tip for ya!

This one pan quinoa dish is filled to the brim with protein and tonnes of vitamins from the array of vegetables I used. I was pleasantly surprised at how delicious it was without any animal meat included! a super colourful, super tasty & super easy dish to boot! 

You can thank me later 😉 A.E x

What you’ll need

(serves 4)

▪️1 tablespoon olive oil

▪️4 cloves garlic (minced

▪️1 cup quinoa

▪️1 cup vegetable stock

▪️400g Red kidney beans (drained and rinsed)

▪️400g roasted red pepper (chopped)

▪️1 red onion (sliced)

▪️200g sweetcorn

▪️1 tsp chili powder

▪️1/2 tsp cumin

▪️sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

▪️1 lemon cut in to 4 wedges

▪️2 tbsp coriander (chopped)

Method

-Heat olive oil in a large pan over medium high heat. Add garlic and cook, stirring frequently, until it starts smelling beaut.

-Stir in quinoa, vegetable stock, kidney beans, red pepper, sweetcorn, red onion, chilli powder and cumin; season with salt and pepper, to taste.

-Bring to a boil; cover then reduce heat and simmer for about 20 minutes till cooked (you can tell its cooked by the little white curls that appear on the grains).

-Stir in coriander and serve right away with a lemon wedge! simplesss

Leave a Reply

