Summer watermelon salad

I’m from Egypt, a very hot & humid country during the summer, which is when I used to visit yearly. Cooking in hot climates is very unappealing & tiresome, so member’s of my family would rely alot on fruit, smoothies & lemonades etc.

One particular dish they would indulge in was grapes or watermelon with a white cheese very similar to feta. My grandma used to have this regularly & it seemed weird to me. I mean its fruit & cheese, a combo many of us wouldn’t associate with the other.

However I am open minded and enjoy trying new things and I’m glad I did. Watermelon and cheese is strangely delicious and so refreshing on those, its too hot to cook days.

A.E x

What you’ll need

▪Half a watermelon (deseeded & cut in to cubes)

▪1 avocado (cubes)

▪1/2 red onion (thinly sliced)

▪bunch of fresh mint (chopped)

▪2tbs olive oil

▪1tbs lime juice

▪dashsea salt (optional)

▪dash black pepper

▪as much feta cheese as you like (crumbled)

■■■

Method

– Place watermelon, avocado, red onion & mint in a large salad bowl.

– for the dressing, mix together the olive oil, lime juice, salt and pepper.

-Drizzle over the salad. Gently stir together.

-Cover and let it sit in the fridge for 30 minutes.

– serve with the crumbled feta cheese on top.

img_20160806_172634-01.jpeg
I served mine with a side of crispbread
Leave a Reply

